What Every Computer Scientist Should Know About Floating-Point Arithmetic

Posted: May 26, 2009 in Coding
Tags: ,

Well some time back when I was coding some C for modifying  Linux kernel my guide said ,”Make sure you dont use floating points”.It was that suggestion that aroused my curiousity about floating points and thus I stumbled upon this article.

What Every Computer Scientist Should Know About Floating-Point Arithmetic…

.

.

.

This one explains floating point arithmatic very clearly. I think every computer scientist should know about floating point arithmetic before he wants to code something serious. Thats why I thought of sharing this one with you.

Comments
  1. Morvine says:

    What is this?? Dinn make much sense to me reading that link…

    • Harlem says:

      Didn’t understand a thing??Good..this is just not the right place for you..thats all..
      @author:

      Please add a subheading saying “Not for kids”…

      • that was a bit too harsh way to reply.. and I honestly dont think there is a need for a “no kids” banner…there are kids bright enough to read such things ..

    • I am sorry its a little bit too deep on the topic..read only if u need to know it..there are other simpler articles on floating point arithmetic,but i thot this one is very comprehensive..thanks for reading my blog..

Leave a Reply

