Work Life!!!

Posted: June 21, 2009 in personal
Tags: , , , , ,

A fine sunny sunday morning ,what could be more frustrating than to be at the office..that too all alone.I am supposed to go to Chennai next week for ISRO interview and I asked my project manager for a 3 day leave.When I was asking for a leave I meant a loss of pay kinda leave. But what I got was a compensatory leave ,that means I have to work 3 sundays to make it up. That saves me 3 days salary but its too frustrating to be here alone.

But please dont have the impression that my project manager is a jerk like most others in the industry. He is an excellent guy,one of the best in his kind. Not annoying, never pester us asking for status, but on the same time keeps a check on the progress. Another good thing is that he knows the technical side too. So he perfectly understands the trouble in making things work and help a lot in that respect also.He knows what all components we have in shelf and when and where to reuse them. The rest of the crew is too jovial. We always have a nice time at the office. Once the PM is out it simply becomes something comparable to my old classroom. If the PM wasnt there then I am sure nothing called “work” would happen there.

I am frustrated about this sunday job,on the other hand Arjun was asking for a sunday a month. So he can take a compensatory leave on the next saturday and go home for two days twice a month atleast. But that request is still under consideration. May be they are a bit doubtful if we will work properly without anyone to control and monitor us.

Now the ISRO thing is pestering me a lot. The whole of my family want me to go there.Well I am yet to go for the interview and they have already decided my career. Oh my god,this is getting into my head. Some of my relatives have already started making offerings to temples and all. Some are already investigating on the possibilities of getting posted at Trivandrum. I got my admission to a University in France (Sofia Antipolis) but I dinn tell anyone except my mother because they wont even care to listen. All they want to say is ISRO. My mom also favours ISRO over France,but thats becos she can’t even think about not seeing me for a full two year span. Despite of saying all this, neither I can stay 2 years without seeing her. I love her to an extent most of you cant possibly fathom. Will see what happens.

I got a mail from CTS saying they will be sending the offer letter on early 2010. If I am not getting ISRO and cant make it to France (money matters a lot..and my mom too..), then my other options are Infosys and CTS. I already received a call letter from Infy saying I have to join on 9th of November 2009. The last thing I want to do is join Infy. But considering the economic scenario of the world, I shud accept that it will be really unwise not to join and wait for CTS. Chances are there that they might never call. Many of us cogs have already made up their mind to go to infy.

I have never felt IT as a good career for an engineer.I have been learning Computer Science.I didnt do it make somebody’s payroll for the rest of my life. I have made enterprise applications before.I have used many of those those technologies they claim to be the state of the art ones. But in the end what is happening more than “taking data out of the database,presenting it neatly and then putting it back”.There is no need for brain,all u need to have is patience,learn n number of technologies and put them together.

I am not telling that this job needs no brains at all,on the other hand I am asking does this job really demand a four year engineering graduation.We can train a +2 student for 6 months and he can do it neatly. And where is our chance of innovation.Your PL says and you do it. Thats all. Like one my friends in Infy(he is an intern there now) said “we are slaves wearing formals”.And another thing,you can kiss goodbye to a good and peaceful family life,esp if ur spouse is also from the same kind of industry.

So even if I join infy, my plans are still the same. I have all those referance letters and the same spirit left. I will keep on trying for something like ISRO or a higher studies option.

[PS: This is an excerpt from my personal diary.Therefore what u read is completely my personal opinion. If you feel hurt or feel that the information is not true, please, I apologize]

Comments
  1. guru_G says:

    Yes man..Its so frustrating to work on sundays..I know wat it feels like.But i liked the idea of compensatory day so that you can avail an off day for the work done on sundays . Good..!! n One more thing i totally agree with ur opinion :- “there is no need for brain,all u need to have is patience,learn n number of technologies and put them together.” Unless u get a very good project(thats happens once in a blue moon) your job is just to extract data from the database and display it neatly.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

